Format: 180g vinyl + insert
EAN: 5050580773158
Release date: April 8th, 2022

Following the reissue of the self-titled debut by Tülay German & François Rabbath in 2021, we‘re presenting the 2nd and final part of our Tülay German reissues: „Homage to Nazım Hikmet“ (1982). Once again in a duo setting with François Rabbath, Tülay German pays tribute to one of Turkey’s greatest poets of the 20th century: Nazım Hikmet (1902-1963).

Recorded in the early 80s this two-album workcycle refers heavily on turkish poets and the tradition of aşıks (singer-poets and wandering bards) and consists of unique and modern interpretations of turkish folk songs unmatched to this day.

Back in the 60s Tülay German (*1935 in Istanbul, Turkey) shook the turkish music landscape with several 7″ records. Most notably her first 7″ record Burçak Tarlası (1964) is now considered the cornerstone of what was to become the Anadolu Rock/ Pop movement and underlines her rebellious nature and sense of justice. But due to increasing repression Tülay German and her lifelong partner and intellectual impetus Erdem Buri decided to leave Turkey a few years later.
In France Tülay German signs a major contract with Philips resulting in many 7″ releases sung in french under her french moniker Toulaϊ. In the long run Tülay German doesn’t feel quite comfortable with this major deal. And thus, despite the success and recognition she had gained, she decides to quit the contract with Philips!

Later on she signs to independent world-music label Arion to pursue her actual artistic goals more in line with her origin and temperament. Back to her mother tongue, Tülay German records above mentioned albums for Arion under full artistic freedom, the only full-lenghths in her 20+ years career. Alongside with double-bass virtuoso and turkophil François Rabbath (*1931 in Aleppo, Syria) the albums consist of aşık traditionals and intonated poems mainly by Nazım Hikmet. Her passionate voice and the restrained arrangements of François Rabbath turn these centuries old melodies and poems into glowing manifestos for love and justice. The fruitful collaboration of these artists-in-exile adds significantly to the rich heritage of turkish folk music.

Nazım Hikmet (1902-1963) is considered as one of Turkey’s greatest poets of the 20th century, though during his lifetime his works were banned in Turkey for decades and he spent most of his life in prison or in exile. He is up to this day a huge reference for turkish writers, musicians and intellectuals.

Tülay German ended her musical career in 1987. In 2021 Tülay German was awarded with the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts, Turkey.

Tülay German voice
François Rabbath saz & double bass

Originally released on Arion in 1982
Recorded in Paris, 1981 by Gilles Roussel
Arrangements by François Rabbath
Poems adapted by Erdem Buri
Remastered for vinyl by Helmut Erler &
lacquer cut by Ruy Mariné at D&M

A1 Homage to Nazım Hikmet (François Rabbath) 4:08
A2 Hapisteler Ama – Yeniliğe Doğru (Mevlana Celaleddin Rumi) 4:13
A3 Bugün Ben Bir Söz Işittim (Köroğlu) 3:23
A4 Urganda Gerdan Iniler (Karacaoğlan) 3:06
A5 Abidin (Nazım Hikmet) 1:54
A6 Hekimoğlu (Traditional) 2:43

B1 Asker Kaçağı (Nazım Hikmet) 2:57
B2 Kalenin Önü (Traditional) 3:56
B3 Dörtlük (Nazım Hikmet) 2:59
B4 Onlar (Nazım Hikmet) 2:42
B5 En Güzel Deniz (Nazım Hikmet) 2:52
B6 Hürriyet Kavgası (Nazım Hikmet) 2:38