Format: 2x180g vinyl + DL code in gatefold sleeve
EAN: 5050580727250
Release date: March 6th 2020

heady dose of traditional-meets-modern deep

It’s hypnotic, captivating, resonant on a subliminal, psychological

Available on vinyl for the very first time: the 1992 album „Apocalypse Across The Sky“ by the legendary MASTER MUSICIANS OF JAJOUKA. Produced by BILL LASWELL, remastered for vinyl by HELMUT ERLER at D&M Berlin and according to Songlines one of the essential recordings of the ensemble.

No matter if you consider the MASTER MUSICIANS OF JAJOUKA a “4,000 year-old rock‘n‘roll band” (WILLIAM S. BURROUGHS) or even „6,000 years old“ (ORNETTE COLEMAN) – without doubt, the music of the ensemble in all its incarnations over the centuries is deeply rooted in Sufi mysticism, paganism and the cult of the goat-god Boujeloud. The music performed in several hour long rituals on traditional instruments reveals hypnotic, trance-inducing qualities and is considered to have magical and healing properties.

In the 1950s, BRION GYSIN along with PAUL BOWLES were among the first westerners to witness such a ceremony, and it was GYSIN who brought BRIAN JONES to the small village of Jajouka in 1967 where the ROLLING STONES guitarist recorded the ensemble for what became the first „world music album” and that raised interest in the MASTER MUSICIANS OF JAJOUKA in the western world. Since those days, a wide number of creative minds like WILLIAM S. BURROUGHS, ORNETTE COLEMAN, MARC RIBOT, FLEA, TALVIN SINGH or the ROLLING STONES have worked with THE MASTER MUSICIANS OF JAJOUKA who are now performing regularly outside Morocco.

In 1991, iconic producer BILL LASWELL also embarked on a trip to the small village of just 800 inhabitants in the Rif mountains to record the group for his AXIOM label – „Apocalypse Across The Sky“ is, unlike other LASWELL projects that bring together different cultures and genres, a pure document of the ensemble, raw and unpolished but exquisitely recorded, and ranks according to the world music magazine Songlines among the essential recordings of the legendary MASTER MUSICIANS OF JAJOUKA and is now available on vinyl for the very first time!

Produced by Bill Laswell
Originally released on Axiom in 1992
Remastered for vinyl + vinyl cut by Helmut Erler at D&M, Berlin
Licenced from Bill Laswell

A1 Gabahay 6:01
A2 A Habibi Ouajee T’allel Allaiya 4:12
A3 EI Medahey 7:05
B1 Bujloudia “Bujloudia Dancing With Aisha Qandisha” 5:46
B2 Alalilla “About The Night” 5:02
B3 The Middle Of The Nlght 5:52
C1 Bujloudia 6:26
C2 Jajouka Between The Mountains 5:55
C3 Memories Of My Father 7:17
D1 Mohamed Diha Utalla Fiha (Take Care Of Her Or Leave Her) 3:27
D2 Sbar Yagelbi Sbar 3:33
D3 On Horseback 5:14
D4 Talaha L’badro Alalna 3:00